BOARD OF SELECTMEN'S MEETING MONDAY JANUARY 12, 2015

In attendance: Kathleen M. Conlon, Denis F. Keohane, J. Thomas Hurley, Annemarie Fagan, Town Administrator and Paula Rizzi, Executive Secretary

- 1. Chair Conlon called the meeting to order at 6:12 p.m. in the Milton Access TV studio at 391 Brook Road.
- 2. The Board met with Charles Cristello, former Town Administrator for the Towns of Hingham and Middleboro and a member of the MMA's Form of Government Committee, and the following members of the Town Government Study Committee (TGSC): Marvin Gordon, Peter Mullin, Robert Hiss, Philip Mathews, Leroy Walker, Mary McNamara, John Cronin and Richard Neely (Chair).

Ms. Conlon stated that the purpose of the meeting is to provide an opportunity to hear Mr. Cristello's views about the role and responsibilities of a strong town administrator. Ms. Conlon stated that this meeting is about a change in the duties of the office of the Town Administrator and not related to the person employed in that position.

Mr. Neely reviewed the TGSC's prior recommendation to the Board of Selectmen to move toward a strong Town Administrator form of government.

Mr. Cristello advised the boards that the trend today is toward a strong Town Administrator form of government. He has reviewed the draft of the proposed recommendation to Town Meeting and believes it will achieve the goals of letting the Board of Selectmen focus on policy and the Town Administrator handle the day-to-day duties of running the Town. Mr. Cristello answered questions from members of the Board of Selectmen and the Town Government Study Committee about the budget process, the number of members of the Board of Selectmen, hiring and terminating department heads, procurement, and what vehicle (Town charter or special act) will define the change.

Ms. Conlon and Mr. Neely thanked Mr. Cristello for attending and for being a resource for the Town as it moves forward in this process.

3. Denis F. Keohane moved, J. Thomas Hurley seconded and the Board voted unanimously at 7:15 p.m. to adjourn.